Gaga’s New Album Release Reveals Softer Side


Lady Gaga’s new album ‘Joanne’ came out on October 21, 2016.

It’s different from anything she has ever done; it’s not the over-the-top kind of music people are used to with her. The album has a wide range of styles from classic pop to something close to  country. Gaga stripped back from her normal out-there personality, revealing a soft side that most did not realize she had.

The most popular songs on Gaga’s new album according to iTunes are: ‘Million Reasons’, ‘Perfect Illusions’, and ‘A-YO’.

Most similar to Gaga’s 2013 previous album Artpop, the song A-YO is the most pop song, wtih a country flair and superfulous meaning. The song starts out talking about smoking a pack of Marlboros and wanting to “Blow it in your face, blow it in your face”.

“Million Reasons” is more somber and serious, about the pain of someone contemplating ending a relationship: “Baby I’m bleedin’, bleedin’”, Gaga croons. “Perfect Illusion” is also about a relationship gone bad, but it has a more upbeat tune.

The album title ‘Joanne’ was inspired by Gaga’s late aunt.

In all, the album has such a variety of songs that you’re likely to like at least one song everyone will like, but for her “Little Monsters” who want classic outrageous Gaga it is very different.